Warmth vs. Wifi

After 24 hours of straight traveling, I have finally gotten back to Berlin.

Someone appears to have turned the city’s thermostat down while I was away.

For my grandparents’ 50th wedding anniversary, my whole family–aunts and uncles and everyone–went to Barbados. My grandparents are nuts about Barbados. They go there every year, and I’ve been about four times before. However, I’ve never noticed before just how terrible the wifi is.

I’m sure that reflects really poorly on my ability to unplug and have a relaxing vacation with my family, but hey. What millennial can really relax while completely unplugged?

It’s not that it bothers me while I’m sitting in the beach or snorkeling in the ocean. At those moments I really can let go and chill out. What makes it truly horrendously frustrating is the fact that when you are someplace that is supposed to have wifi (for instance, the house we stayed in), it just teases you by bringing up those little bars and then perpetually “loading…”

Now I’m going to take advantage of the fabulous internet connection in my apartment to post some pictures from Barbados while I wear every sweater and scarf I own and try to remember what sun feels like.

Enterprise "Miami" Beach, east coast of Barbados
Enterprise “Miami” Beach, east coast of Barbados
View while horseback riding in the north east part of the island
View while horseback riding in the north east part of the island
Barbados National Wildlife Preserve, aka Monkey Forest
Barbados National Wildlife Preserve, aka Monkey Forest
Windsurfer on the west coast of Barbados
Windsurfer on the west coast of Barbados

Leave a Reply

