The Lost Game – Kreuzberg

I decided to take advantage of the great weather today (11° and barely drizzling) and play one of my favorite games from my backpacking trip. I call it “The Lost Game,” which is a snappy and accurate title. I invented it while I was traveling two summers ago, because it’s a great way to see cities without spending a lot of (or any) money. Essentially, you start walking in a direction, and don’t look at the map. Rather than panic and stress about not making it to predetermined tourist destinations by the scheduled times, you just try to relax and breath and appreciate seeing these you’ve never seen before.

I started at Schönleinstr. in Kreuzberg, attempting to find Dialogue Books. (If anyone has any information about whether or not this store actually exists, please let me know). I thought I’d found the right address, but it appeared to be an apartment renovating company and I just kept walking.

2014-12-18 13.54.09
Hohenstaufenplatz
2014-12-18 14.01.14
Kottbusser Damm and Maybachufer

The only hang up with playing the lost game in a city I already live in is that it was hard to get lost. I rolled with it. I started walking toward Cuvry Strasse to see the murals that aren’t there anymore.

2014-12-18 14.03.10

Manteuffelstrasse and Oranienstrasse
ROA at Manteuffelstrasse and Oranienstrasse

2014-12-18 14.15.04

SOBR across from Gorlitzer Bahnhoff
SOBR across from Gorlitzer Bahnhoff

2014-12-18 14.17.57

SOBR on Waldemarstrasse
SOBR on Waldemarstrasse
SOBR on Waldemarstrasse
SOBR on Waldemarstrasse

2014-12-18 14.23.13

Mariannenplatz
Mariannenplatz
Victor Ash at Mariannenstrasse
Victor Ash at Mariannenstrasse

2014-12-18 14.30.352014-12-18 14.34.25

Oranienplatz
Oranienplatz
Oranienplatz
Oranienplatz
SOBR on Schlesische Strasse
SOBR on Schlesische Strasse
Former squat at Cuvry Str.
Former squat at Cuvry Str.

One thought on “The Lost Game – Kreuzberg

Leave a Reply

