Visiting the Brothers Grimm

I’ve been wanting to do more new things. Today, I went to a cemetery, which was kind of an odd choice since things there are pretty old and sedentary.

It’s called Alter St. Matthäus Kirkhof. I picked it because of an article I read on Slow Travel Berlin that mentioned that the Grimm Brothers of fairy tale fame are buried here.

I got off the S-Bahn at Yorckstrasse, and took the first two right turns. I found myself on a little cobblestone street, which contributed immensely to my feeling like I was seeing important, historical things. Cobblestones always make me feel cultured.

Entering the cemetery through the ivy-covered gate, I passed a little café on my left. I thought it might be closed since it’s Sunday, but I could hear people inside laughing and sipping Milchkaffee. Every few meters along the walkway, multi-colored plastic watering cans waited patiently for someone to borrow them.

2014-12-28 14.27.27

A couple pushed a pram behind me and I pulled up my hood to seem less conspicuous, snapping pictures of everything with my iPhone.

There is block of blue mulch in the upper middle section, with wavy rows full of brightly colored toys alongside tiny gravestones. Some stones show only a single date, as recent as August 2014. Pinwheels, piggy banks, dolls, and tiny porcelain shoes. A boat-like structure sails through the rows with a mast in the shape of a cross.

2014-12-28 14.12.01

I found the Brothers Grimm in the upper right quadrant. There is no plaque or anything. Just fresh evergreen branches in front of each stone, some flowers, candles, and a laminated page from a children’s coloring book.

2014-12-28 14.23.58

2014-12-28 14.23.12
The extended Grimm family

Leave a Reply

