Why I Blog

Over the past few months, I’ve come to the conclusion: I am not a good blogger.

At first, I thought the hardest part was coming up with a focus for my blog. Having a blog that centered around my life seemed unbelievably narcissistic, and I didn’t want that. Having a blog that centered around living in Berlin seemed completely cliché, and I didn’t want that either. Having a blog that centered around my super-fun and fast-paced career seemed, well, laughable. So what the fuck am I supposed to blog about?

I worried about swearing too much, or not sounding professional enough. I worried about SEO and not knowing all that much about the Internet in general. I worried about seeming ridiculous by tweeting links to my infantile posts on my extremely green blog. I worried and worried and worried and neglected to blog at all.

When I started this post (a week ago), it was going to be my sign-off from the blogosphere. “Thanks Mom, Gretchen, Anthony, Kelsie-from-Alaska. It’s been swell but I’ll be reading silently from the sidelines from now on.” But after reading this post from Travels of Adam, I decided to stick it out. I just need to change up my routine.

Ryan Gosling Blog Meme

What is my blog about?

Writing. My blog is about writing.

I love writing. I love it more than Parmesan cheese or snorkeling with sea turtles. And I write a lot. The thing is, I’ve deemed almost everything “not blog-worthy.” As if I have any fucking clue what “blog-worthy” is supposed to mean.

I write fiction, so you can expect narrative-style posts about things that I do or find interesting. I like reading; there will be book reviews. I’m a freelancer, so there will be some stuff on working as a freelancer. And I’m really, really new at this. So there will be questions.

Why do I blog?

What I fear(ed) most about blogging is the vulnerability to judgment from literally anyone in the world. It’s intimidating to write things and then post them for everyone to see–or not see. Which is precisely why I’ve been avoiding it for months.

However, blogging is a social thing. That’s basically the point of it. While there is always going to be the possibility of people snickering to themselves at their computers, tearing apart my painstakingly-crafted work, there is also the very real possibility of engaging with other talented writers. That’s why I want to blog. I enjoy being a part of dialogues on other people’s blogs so much, I’d love to be the kind of blogger that prompts those interactions. It’s not that I want to get famous and make loads of money Alright, of course I’d like to get famous and make loads of money, but as long as I feel like I’m improving as a writer and connecting with other people, that’s enough for now.

Also: I’m very tired of having two separate links–one to my blog and one to my portfolio. So I’ve smushed them together. It seemed like the right thing to do.

Mac Book 2011

6 thoughts on “Why I Blog

  1. From the sample of your writing style I saw in your beginnings in Berlin. I can already bookmark your blog. I do not want to give you any advice, I want to submit you request. Do not promise me but promise yourself that you will keep on writing no matter what.

    A Swiss friend.

    Like

  2. Hey, Genevieve. I just stumbled across your blog and I have to say I really sympathise with what you’ve written. It took me so long to start my blog because I was worried about how I’d sound, what other people would think, etc. But then I decided on a few things: Life is too short, I don’t care what people think, and it’s only a blog. 😀 Happy blogging!! Conni x
    ps. Very envious of you living in Berlin! ❤

    Like

    1. Thanks Conni! Yeah, I’m just trying to stress a little less and blog a little more…or something like that, haha. And yes, Berlin is pretty fantastic. Let me know if you’re ever in town! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Once again a great post. You said all the things I was thinking…especially about the swearing. Lol. But you’re right…its engaging with like minds. Its such a therapeutic feeling when all is said and done. Keep writing!

    Like

  4. Just stumbling on this and thanks for the shout-out! It’s so important to define why you blog and it seems like you’re on the right path!! Shout out anytime 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

